

City of Lloydminster Request for Decision (RFD)

Subject Matter: Lloydminster Public Library Appointment

Department: Community Development Services

Presented By: Tracy Simpson

Council Meeting Date: January 22, 2024

Recommendation:

That Council approve the appointment of Brittany Murphy for a three (3) year term to the City of Lloydminster Library Board, ending December 31, 2026.

Issue: The Lloydminster Public Library Board has requested Council appoint a representative to the Library Board for a three (3) year term.

Background: The City of Lloydminster has a Bylaw (Bylaw No. 22-2020) that formed the City of Lloydminster Library Board. As per the Bylaw, all Library Board appointments shall be appointed by Council. The Lloydminster Public Library has provided the attached recommendation for the Library Board appointment.

Options:

- 1. That Council approve the appointment of Brittany Murphy for a three (3) year term to the City of Lloydminster Library Board, ending December 31, 2026.
- 2. That Council does not approve the appointment of Brittany Murphy for a three (3) year term to the City of Lloydminster Library Board, ending December 31, 2026.
- 3. That Council request further information and that the item be brought forward to a future Regular Council Meeting for decision.

Alignment with Strategic Plan: This item is in alignment with the following strategic area: Delivering Good Governance. The City of Lloydminster has formed the City of Lloydminster Library Board to formalize the governance of the Lloydminster Public Library.

Legal Review: N/A

Governance Implications: As per Bylaw No. 22-2020, the Library Bylaw, all board members are to be appointed by Council.

Budget/Financial Implications: N/A

Environmental Implications: N/A



City of Lloydminster Request for Decision (RFD)

Report Approval Details

Document Title:	Lloydminster Public Library Appointment Brittany Murphy 2024-2026.docx
Attachments:	- 20240104 Brittany Murphy Additional Term REDACTED.pdf
Final Approval Date:	Jan 15, 2024

This report and all of its attachments were approved and signed as outlined below:

Tracy Simpson

Doug Rodwell

Dion Pollard